d&d 5e bracers of archery

The bracers of archery are an uncommon magic item that state:

"While wearing these bracers, you have proficiency with the longbow and shortbow, and you gain a +2 bonus to damage rolls on ranged attacks made with such weapons."

If I”m a level 3 Warlock with the Improved Pact Weapon Invocation and I conjure a Shortbow as my pact weapon and cast Eldritch Blast using the shortbow as my Spellcasting Focus, do I get to add +2 to the damage roll(s) of that Eldritch Blast?
I”d rule that yes, for that specific scenario, you do. But only because IPW lets you use said weapon as a foci.

Đang xem: D&d 5e bracers of archery

I”d rule that yes, for that specific scenario, you do. But only because IPW lets you use said weapon as a foci.


Well that”s really strong then, considering you can roll Eldritch Blast damage 8 times per round at level 17 (in combination with the Sorcerer”s Quicken Spell), that”s 16 damage.
Eh, it is a magic item, only works with a specific invocation of a specific pact, and only adds 16 damage while you”ve the Sorcery Points to burn, which requires levels in Sorcerer too.

EDIT: And technically doesn”t work with Eldritch Blast, since EB doesn”t have a material component.
I do not think the combo was what the developers were thinking of, but I would most likely allow in one of my campaigns. It is specific to a certain combo and character. When things start going so that every warlock does this is when it becomes a problem.
The bracers of archery are an uncommon magic item that state:

"While wearing these bracers, you have proficiency with the longbow and shortbow, and you gain a +2 bonus to damage rolls on ranged attacks made with such weapons."

If I”m a level 3 Warlock with the Improved Pact Weapon Invocation and I conjure a Shortbow as my pact weapon and cast Eldritch Blast using the shortbow as my Spellcasting Focus, do I get to add +2 to the damage roll(s) of that Eldritch Blast?


Is this using the shortbow as a weapon though? A spell focus is not a weapon IMO so I don”t think this works out per RAW; the wording is too narrow.
Is this using the shortbow as a weapon though? A spell focus is not a weapon IMO so I don”t think this works out per RAW; the wording is too narrow.


Doesn”t matter, it”s still being made with the weapon. Whether you”re using that weapon as a weapon, foci, or camping aid it”s still using the weapon.
I think it”s really clear that the point of the bracers is to make you better at firing arrows from a bow.

So no, you don”t get the bonus when casting eldritch blast if I”m DMing.
This should be the end of the discussion for EB, since even if you”d agree that using the focus would be "using the weapon," you are not using the focus for the EB.

As for the intent of the discussion, while I would not allow it, I could understand a DM doing so.

Read more: small pouch of coins wow

It matters because if it doesn”t have a material component then you don”t use an arcane focus to cast it. You just point your finger and zap away.

But even if you do cast as spell with a weapon as the arcane focus, it”s not the same as attacking with the weapon, as should be obvious if you think about using your focus to cast a buff spell on yourself or an ally.
The bracers of archery are an uncommon magic item that state:

"While wearing these bracers, you have proficiency with the longbow and shortbow, and you gain a +2 bonus to damage rolls on ranged attacks made with such weapons."

If I”m a level 3 Warlock with the Improved Pact Weapon Invocation and I conjure a Shortbow as my pact weapon and cast Eldritch Blast using the shortbow as my Spellcasting Focus, do I get to add +2 to the damage roll(s) of that Eldritch Blast?


No, bracers of archery provide its bonus to ranged attacks made with a longbow or shortbow, however using such a weapon as a spell focus is not the making an attack with the weapon (you”re nor not using the bow as a weapon).
No, bracers of archery provide its bonus to ranged attacks made with a longbow or shortbow, however using such a weapon as a spell focus is not the making an attack with the weapon (you”re nor not using the bow as a weapon).


The bow is a weapon. You are using the weapon as a focus (not with EB, though). Q.E.D. the ranged spell attack is a ranged attack made with the weapon.
The bow is a weapon. You are using the weapon as a focus (not with EB, though). Q.E.D. the ranged spell attack is a ranged attack made with the weapon.
Well that”s really strong then, considering you can roll Eldritch Blast damage 8 times per round at level 17 (in combination with the Sorcerer”s Quicken Spell), that”s 16 damage.


Oh no! There”s an edge case, dependent upon a specific build and a specific magic item, where a character can burn a resource and do some extra damage!

5e must be broken.
I don”t see any ambiguity. If you have a class ablity that lets you use a weapon as a focus, you are NOT using it as a weapon. You are waving it around in the air like a wand.

It”s like using a longbow as a walking stick. You can use it like that, but bracers of archery don”t give you a bonus to your ability to walk up a hill.
I don”t see any ambiguity. If you have a class ablity that lets you use a weapon as a focus, you are NOT using it as a weapon. You are waving it around in the air like a wand.

It”s like using a longbow as a walking stick. You can use it like that, but bracers of archery don”t give you a bonus to your ability to walk up a hill.


I don”t think anybody would argue that it”s RAW, but in this case I think the Rule of Cool wins out. Especially since: a) the actual mechanical impact is not extreme, and b) it”s nothing the player can engineer.

(Three cheers for the death of magic shoppes!)

If I had a player in this situation who wanted to refluff Eldrtich Blast to be cast by using the bow and shooting out magical force arrows, I”d be fine with it.

Read more: Wow Orphans Like Cookies Too, Quest:Orphans Like Cookies Too!


I”ll steadfastly argue it”s RAW, although I”ll equally argue that it”s not RAI, and I”d also equally argue that it is ROC.

I don”t see any ambiguity. If you have a class ablity that lets you use a weapon as a focus, you are NOT using it as a weapon.

What you”re using it as doesn”t change what it is though. The bracers don”t care how you use the weapon, only that the attack is made using said weapon (in this case (well not this exact one) as a foci).
Facebook Twitter Reddit Pinterest Tumblr WhatsApp Email Share Link

Home Community General Tabletop Discussion *Dungeons & Dragons

Contact us Terms and rules Privacy policy Help Home RSS

Leave a Comment