Does Mage Armor Stack With Natural Armor Bonus, Natural Armor Bonus

Collections Game Rules Classes Additional Spells Sources Sourcebooks Adventures Tools Marketplace Media Desktop View Sign Out

So me and my group have just left 3.0 to go over to 5e. And in 3.0 there is natural armor, normal armor, dex armor and 2-3 more.So my DM says that because there is only +# AC in 5e, means that you cannot stack it together. Like a studded leather armor, plus mage armor wouldn”t stack.And it doesn”t sound right to me though. Because why would mage armor and shield not stack? Shield would LARGELY lose it”s power in my opinion. It would be useless but…. erh.So I”m hoping someone here can help us clarify this problem. ^^

Rollback Post to Revision RollBack
#2 Dec 25, 2018
InquisitiveCoder
InquisitiveCoder

*

You can only use one AC calculation at a time (e.g. armor, Unarmored Defense, Mage Armor, Draconic Resilience, Natural Armor.) You can stack unlimited bonuses on top of that as long as they”re not from two of the same spell, magic item, or any other game feature with the same name.

Đang xem: Does mage armor stack with natural armor

You can combine Mage Armor with a shield or the Shield spell, but not with Draconic Resilience or Unarmored Defense.

Rollback Post to Revision RollBack
#3 Dec 25, 2018
Stormknight
Stormknight D&D Beyond Staff

*

#4 Dec 25, 2018
Daergiel
Daergiel

So if I have studded leather armor on and I use mage armor, but I can”t use shield? But I can use mage armor, while wearing simple clothing, and then top it off with shield?Or do I have to get different bonuses from different spell lists. So if I was a sorcerer and a cleric I could use chain shirt armor, while having shield of faith, AND top it off with mage armor.It”s mostly because that bladesingers get their int modifier to their AC. And they become proficient in light armor. So does that mean that they don”t benefit from mage armor while their blade song is active?

Sorry if it”s too confusing. I”m really confused myself! xD

Rollback Post to Revision RollBack
#5 Dec 25, 2018
JCAUDM
JCAUDM

*

#6 Dec 25, 2018
InquisitiveCoder
InquisitiveCoder
#7 Dec 25, 2018
Daergiel
Daergiel

Ah! Thank you! ^^ This really helps! Your service has been most helpful, Thank you! ^^

Rollback Post to Revision RollBack
#8 Dec 26, 2018
Staffan
Staffan
#9 Dec 27, 2018
BySavras
BySavras
#10 Dec 27, 2018
Tim
Tim
#11 Dec 27, 2018
BySavras
BySavras

You can get AC easily in the 30-50s in other editions including Pathfinder. I think 22 AC isn’t crazy in relation but within the current 5e it’s pretty hard to beat.

Read more: between a saurok and a hard place

Rollback Post to Revision RollBack
#12 Dec 27, 2018
Tim
Tim
#13 Dec 27, 2018
InquisitiveCoder
InquisitiveCoder
#14 Dec 27, 2018
Staffan
Staffan
#15 Dec 27, 2018
Tim
Tim
#16 Dec 27, 2018
Staffan
Staffan

Good point. I”m not super-worried about what happens at level 18+, though. That seems like more of a theoretical issue.

Rollback Post to Revision RollBack
#17 Jan 1, 2019
RobAGD
RobAGD

So I am attempting to convert a few of our characters from Pathfinder to 5E, I have most of the basic stuff sorted but some of the magical stuff I am making by modifying an already existing item.

Read more: Wow Investigate The Alchemist Shop, Investigate The Alchemist Shop

On one character they had a Ring of Protection +2 ( Used a RoP +1 and edited the AC and that seems to work fine ) next up was the Elven Chain Mail +2. This was custom from Pathfinder and it allowed full Dex Mod and Stealth Check None. So I did the edits but I am only seeing a change of 1 to AC when I equip and unequip it.

If everything was edited correctly would the system allow the stacking of the +2 from The ring AND the Armor or is that a change in the system on bonuses ?

Thanks

-Robert

Rollback Post to Revision RollBack
#18 Jan 1, 2019
Tim
Tim
#19 Jan 1, 2019
MellieDM
MellieDM D&D Beyond Staff
#20 Jan 2, 2019
jd2319
jd2319
1
12
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes
Previous Thread
Jump to Forum
Next Thread
Play With Advantage
Quick Links Support Follow Us
©2021 D&D Beyond | All Rights Reserved | Powered by Fandom Games
Dungeons & Dragons, D&D, their respective logos, and all Wizards titles and characters are property of Wizards of the Coast LLC in the U.S.A. and other countries. ©2021 Wizards.
Privacy Policy Terms of Service Terms of Sale Support
Mobile View

Leave a Comment